Rate your officials.

Transparency exists here.

Browse Officials Add Official

Quick Facts

Attorney General




starts 01/01/2013


John E. Swallow was elected as Utah Attorney General in November 2012 with 65 percent of the statewide vote. He plans to focus on protecting children from abuse and sex trafficking, stopping financial fraud and preserving state’s rights. Swallow had been serving as Chief Deputy Attorney General since December 2009 and was overseeing the civil divisions and all litigation involving the state of Utah. Under his leadership, the A.G.’s Office filed a lawsuit with 26 states over health care reform and instigated litigation over the federal Wild Lands policy. He helped double the size of the public lands litigation team and hired an attorney to research constitutional issues related to federalism and state’s rights.
Swallow graduated with a BS and law degree from Brigham Young University and was a member of the Brigham Young University Law Review. He started as an associate and later became a partner with the commercial litigation firm Scalley & Reading. Swallow was also appointed as a Judge Pro Tem for the Third District Court and served as Chairman of the Business Section of the Utah State Bar.
Swallow was elected to the Utah House of Representatives for three terms from 1997 through 2002. He served on the committees for Revenue and Taxation, Criminal Justice and Law Enforcement Standing and Administrative Rules Review and was the chairman of the Public Utilities and Technology Standing Committee. He was also the Regional Whip for the Majority Party.
While in the Utah House of Representatives, Swallow was named the Taxpayer Advocate of the Year by the Utah Taxpayers Association for sponsoring and passing legislation giving Utah one of the largest tax cuts in state history. He sponsored a bill to expand Drug Courts statewide and was honored by the Utah Association of Chiefs of Police for creating a task force to help local police departments develop crime reduction plans. Swallow was also recognized by the Utah Association of Realtors, National Federation of Independent Business and the Utah Food Industry Association and other industry groups for his service on behalf of the business community.
In 2002 and 2004, Swallow was the Republican Party nominee for Utah’s Congressional District but narrowly lost to Congressman Jim Matheson in both races. He is fluent in Spanish and helps coach youth sport teams. Swallow is married to Suzanne M. Seader and they are the parents of five children.

Write a Review

All reviews for John Swallow, Attorney General

Other Images

Found nothing in 486-John Swallow, Attorney General

In Our System

  • Doug LaMalfa

    Doug LaMalfaCongressman

    Douglas L. LaMalfa (born July 2, 1960) is an American politician. A Republican, he has been the U.S. Representative for California's 1st congressional district, located in Northern California, since 2013. LaMalfa previously served in the California State Assembly, representing the 2nd district, from 2002 ...
  • Hank Johnson

    Hank JohnsonCongressman

    Henry C. "Hank" Johnson Jr. (born October 2, 1954) is the U.S. Representative for Georgia's 4th congressional district, serving since 2007. He is a member of the Democratic Party. The district is based in DeKalb County, a largely suburban county east ...
  • Betty McCollum

    Betty McCollumCongresswoman

    Betty Louise McCollum (born July 12, 1954) is the U.S. Representative for Minnesota's 4th congressional district, serving since 2001. She is a member of the Democratic-Farmer-Labor Party (DFL). The district centers on St. Paul, Minnesota's capital city. She is the second woman elected ...
  • John Hoeven

    John HoevenSenator

    John Henry Hoeven III (born March 13, 1957) is the senior United States Senator from North Dakota. A member of the North Dakota Republican Party, he previously served as the 31st Governor of North Dakota ...
  • Ken Cuccinelli

    Ken CuccinelliAttorney General

    Kenneth T. Cuccinelli, II was elected Attorney General of Virginia on November 3, 2009, and was sworn into office on January 16, 2010. In this position, he is responsible for overseeing the Office of the ...